Friday, January 12, 2018

Book Review: There Will Be Lies, by Nick Lake

There Will Be Lies
By: Nick Lake
ISBN-10: 1619634406
Add on Goodreads

Shelby is deaf, but she has always been able to sense that something is off about her quiet, reserved life with her mother. When her mom suddenly takes her on an unexpected road trip through the Grand Canyon, Shelby begins learning all kinds of secrets about the life she thought she knew so well.

It contains:

• Profanity (fricking, p*ssed, h*ll, *ss, and b*tch)
• Violence (stabbing a hand with a knife, a character is ordered to eat a human heart, wielding a shotgun, and chase scenes)
• Shelby has a crush on a boy
• Shelby’s mother flirts with a man and it is suggested that they have sex in a hotel room
• The main character smokes cigarettes
• An adult drinks

There Will Be Lies is part contemporary, part magical realism, and part mystery thriller. Shelby is a funny and relatable narrator, and there’s enough action to keep readers interested.

Best Blogger Tips

Thursday, January 4, 2018

Book Review: Say What You Will, by Cammie McGovern

Say What You Will
By: Cammie McGovern
www.CammieMcGovern.com
ISBN-10: 0062271105
Add on Goodreads

Amy’s body has been disabled ever since she was born. Matthew has a disorder that causes him to constantly be freaked out about germs. When Amy tries making some new friends at school, and starts getting to know Matthew better, she wonders that if together, she and Matthew can balance the other person out, and make each other feel normal.

Parents should be aware that this is a young adult book and includes the following inappropriate content:

• Profanity (a few F-words, as well as sh*t, p*ssed, and two C-words)
• References to and discussions about sex
• Reference to pornography
• Sensual touching
• Kissing
• Reference to marijuana
• Some teens drink alcohol


Readers who enjoyed Say What You Will might also like:



Best Blogger Tips

Wednesday, January 3, 2018

Book Review: Seventh Grave and No Body (Charley Davidson, book 7), by Darynda Jones

Seventh Grave and No Body (Charley Davidson, book 7)
By: Darynda Jones
ISBN: 1250045649
Add to Goodreads


When a slew of possible suicides comes to her attention, Charley goes racing around town in search of a connection. But she quickly discovers that going about business as usual with both Reyes and a dozen indestructible Hell Hounds in tow is a lot easier said than done.

Seventh Grave and No Body, is filled with relationship woes, self discovery, and blurry predictions about the future as Charley, our friendly neighborhood grim reaper, comes even further into her powers. This is the seventh book in the Charley Davidson series and picks up shortly after the conclusion of Sixth Grave on the Edge. Fans of the series with find the pacing and humor seen in the prior books well intact in this installment.

Note: Print Editions include an extra chapter from Reyes' point of view at the end.

Seventh Grave and No Body contains:
  • Profanity (Cr*p, Ass, fuck, damn)
  • References to past suicides
  • Lust
  • Much admiring of butts
  • Killing
  • Injuries (blood,
  • Sex scene involving bondage and pain
  • Oral sex (detailed)
  • Discussion about the size and appearance of a man's private area


The Charley Davidson Series:
  • Book 1: First Grave on the Right (Review)
  • Novella 1.5: For I Have Sinned
  • Book 2: Second Grave on the Left (Review)
  • Book 3: Third Grave Dead Ahead (Review)
  • Book 4: Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet (Review)
  • Book 5: Fifth Grave Past the Light (Review)
  • Book 6: Sixth Grave on the Edge (Review)
  • Book 7: Seventh Grave and No Body (Review)
  • Book 8: Eighth Grave After Dark (Review)
  • Novella 8.5: Brighter Than the Sun (Review)
  • Book 9: The Dirt on Ninth Grave
  • Book 10: The Curse of Tenth Grave
  • Book 11: Untitled

Readers who enjoyed Seventh Grave and No Body may also like:

 Book Review: Eighth Grave After Dark (Charley Davidson, Book 8), By Darynda Jones
Best Blogger Tips

Friday, December 29, 2017

Book Review: UnWholly (Unwind Dystology, Book 2), by Neal Shusterman

UnWholly
By: Neal Shusterman
www.storyman.com
ISBN-10: 1442423668
Add on Goodreads

Connor is now the leader of an outcast group of Unwound kids. But when Risa gets captured, Connor wants to drop everything to save her, even if Risa might be falling in love with someone else—Cam, the first “person” to be made from pieced-together Unwind parts.

It includes:

• Mild profanity (h*ll, d*mn)
• Some kissing
• Violence (shooting, beating, a plane crash, one character is made up of many human body parts, and a game of Russian Roulette)

UnWholly is just as much of an invigorating, thought-provoking read as the first book. Fans of Unwind should be satisfied with this sequel that contains many appearances of old characters as well as brand-new ones.


More Unwind reviews:
Book 1: Unwind

Best Blogger Tips

Monday, December 18, 2017

Coming Soon: Brief Cases (Dresden Files Anthology book 2), By Jim Butcher

News just broke and I believe it this time because Jim Butcher the one and only author was the one who shared it. We have a cover!

OOOOOOOOH

AHHHHHHHH

Revel in it!

okay, okay, that's enough.

WE HAVE A RELEASE DATE!!!!!!!

JUNE 5TH!!!!!!


This latest installment of the Dresden Files will include short stories not included in Side Jobs as well as one new never before published story.

Stories Included:
  • Curses (Published in The Naked City)
  • AAAA Wizardry (Published in the Dresden Files RPG)
  • Even Hand (Published in Dark and Stormy Knights)
  • B is for Bigfoot (Published in Under My Hat: Tales From the Cauldron
  • I was a Teenage Bigfoot (Published in Blood Lite 3: Aftertaste)
  • Bigfoot on Campus (Published in Hex Appeal)
  • Bombshells (Published in Dangerous Women)
  • Jury Duty (Published in Unbound)
  • Cold Case (Published in Shadowed Souls
  • Day One (Published in Unfettered II)
  • A Fistful of Warlocks (Published in Straight Outta Tombstone)
  • Zoo Day (Brand New for Brief Cases

Pre-order is available!!!!!!

Best Blogger Tips

Friday, December 15, 2017

Book Review: Landline, by Rainbow Rowell

landline by rainbow rowell book cover image large hd hq new release adult romance fantasy
Landline
By: Rainbow Rowell
RainbowRowell.com
ISBN-10: 1250049377
Add on Goodreads

Georgie’s marriage is already on the rocks when she suddenly has to choose between a work offer and going to Omaha for Christmas with her family. The magic phone in her childhood bedroom doesn’t help clear her whirling mind either, when she is suddenly able call her husband, Neal, from twenty years in the past.

Landline is an adult contemporary romance with a fantasy twist. It can be read by young adults, although it does contain lots of cussing (many F-words), adult sexual dialogue, a homosexual character, making out, an animal birthing scene, and a flashback to Georgie giving birth.

The characters in this novel are refreshingly hilarious, and if you like fluffy chick lit books or enjoyed Rainbow Rowell’s other published works, you shouldn’t have a problem with Landline. You may be able to figure out some parts of the plot before Georgie does, but the comical dialogue and page turning chapters make up for it.

Best Blogger Tips

Sunday, December 3, 2017

Book Review: Awaken (Awaken, Book 1), by Katie Kacvinsky

Awaken (Awaken, book 1)
By: Katie Kacvinsky
KatieKacvinskyBooks.wordpress.com
ISBN-10: 0547721986
Add on Goodreads

Maddie lives in a digitally-saturated world, where children do their school on computers, people chat and go on dates online, and hardly anyone ventures out of doors. Maddie has always felt that something was wrong with this lifestyle, and when she meets Justin, who has an even stronger opinion about electronics than she does, he’s about to change her view of the real world for the better.

It includes:

• Kissing, making out, and some sensual touches
• Profanity (sh*t, d*mn, and h*ll)
• Violence (some injuries and shooting)

This is an intriguing young adult dystopian novel that tackles the idea of a near future filled with electronics. The tone is fairly light throughout.


Readers who enjoyed Awaken might also like The Declaration by Gemma Malley and:



Best Blogger Tips

Sunday, November 19, 2017

Book Review: The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, by John Boyne

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
By: John Boyne
www.JohnBoyne.com
ISBN-10: 0385751060
Add on Goodreads

Bruno is upset when his family moves from their cozy house in Berlin to the country for his father’s work as a soldier. But things start looking up when Bruno spies a farm near his new house, and meets a boy wearing striped pajamas on the other side of the fence who becomes his new playmate.

This book contains:

• Reference to adults using bad words
• Violence (deaths, starving people, beating a man, Jews in a concentration camp, and the smell of burning bodies)
• Emotionally disturbing scenes

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas paints a subtly simple, vidid picture of the horrible acts of brutality of WWII. The message, characters, and story about the Holocaust are all extraordinarily powerful.

Best Blogger Tips

Saturday, November 4, 2017

Book Review: Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin, by Liesl Shurtliff

Rump: The True Story of Rupelstiltskin
By: Liesl Shurtliff
LieslShurtliff.com
ISBN-10: 0307977935
Add on Goodreads

Rump is used to being made fun of because his name is, well, Rump. But his simple lifestyle suddenly gets complicated when he comes across a magical spinning wheel and finds out he has a knack for weaving. But what Rump doesn’t know is that the spinning wheel is cursed, and now he will have to go on a dangerous journey to break the spell cast upon him.

This is a middle grade book and contains:

• Some bullying
• Violence (hitting, pixies bite people, trolls talk about eating people, a nosebleed, bloody fingers, and one character dies)

Rump: The True Story of Rupelstiltskin is a humorous and cleverly-written novel for younger readers. There are lots of new twists added to the original Rumpelstiltskin tale, and the author includes cameo appearances from other fairytales as well.

Best Blogger Tips

Wednesday, October 25, 2017

Book Review: The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak

The Book Thief
By: Markus Zusak
ZusakBooks.tumblr.com
ISBN-10: 0375831002
Add on Goodreads

In 1939, Liesel is sent to live in safety with Hans and Rosa Hubermann, who are secretly Jewish sympathizers. Hans begins to teach Liesel to read, and as Liesel falls in love with books, she realizes that words have the power to help her make it through each day in the ruthless time of war.

It includes:

• Profanity (religious names are abused, and godd*mn, sh*t, and h*ll are used frequently)
• Violence (death and beatings)
• Reference to a boy’s genitals
• A kiss
• Smoking and drinking

The Book Thief has a very heavy WWII theme and lots of language (both in English and German). Although the chapters are short, the book tends to drag a bit, but Markus Zusak’s beautiful writing, memorable characters, and emotional scenes make up for the boring parts.


Readers who enjoyed The Book Thief might also like:

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Best Blogger Tips